Air Force Commendation Medal

Air Force Commendation Medal


Awarded to members of the Armed Forces of the United States who have distinguished themselves by meritorious achievement and service. The degree of merit must be distinctive, though it need not be unique. Acts of courage which do not involve the voluntary risk of life required for the Soldier's Medal (or the Airman's Medal now authorized for the Air Force) may be considered for the AFCM.

The medal is a bronze hexagon, with one point up, centered upon which is the seal of the Air Force, an eagle with wings spread, facing left, perched upon a baton. There are clouds in the background. Below the seal is a shield bearing a pair of flyer's wings and a vertical baton with an eagle's claw at either end; behind the shield are eight lightning bolts.

An example of the citation that usually accompanies the award of the Air Force Commendation follows, "Captain Evans A. Kerrigan distinguished himself by meritorious service as Instructor Navigator and Standardization/Evaluation Instructor, KC-135, 509th Air Refueling Squadron, 509th Bombardment Wing, SAC, Pease Air Force Base, New Hampshire, February 19, 1984 to May 16, 1988. During this period, Captain Kerrigan's superior performance and outstanding dedication led to significant improvements in the unit's combat readiness, contributing immeasurably to the performance of its worldwide missions. The distinctive accomplishments of Captain Kerrigan reflect credit upon himself and the United States Air Force."

A bronze oak leaf cluster is awarded for each additional award of the AFCM. Award of the "V" device for a contingency deployment operation will be dependent upon the area of responsibility (AOR) being declared a hostile environment by the JCS, or hostile acts identified by the unified commander or higher authority. Award of the "V" device is authorized only for events or situations which occured on or after 11 Jan 96.


This medal was authorized by the Secretary of the Air Force on March 28, 1958 while serving in any capacity with the Air Force after March 24, 1958.

Weighted Airman Promotion System (WAPS) Points: 3

USAFE Air Force Commendation Medal Recipients:

TSgtFrank Acree
CMSgtDavid Adkins
SMSgtMichael Agnew
MSgtEric Akers
SSgtNicholas Alexander
MSgtMatthew Allen
SSgtSean Allen
TSgtRachel Anderson
TSgtJeffrey Anke jr
SSgtRodney Arzuaga
MSgtRichard Asberry
TSgtJustin Baier
ComCMSgtRobert Bailey
TSgtKristopher Ball
MSgtMartin Barnes
TSgtFrank Barone
TSgtRobert Bateman
SrAJames Baynard
SSgtJack Bean
SrAKevin Beaver
MSgtDaniel Bencivenga
SMSgtPatrick Bennett
MSgtJustin Benson
MSgtFrank Berrones
MSgtSeth Berry
SSgtRoss Bielski
MSgtArthur Bisbee
MSgtHoward Blake
MSgtTimothy Borden
GenRoger Brady
A1CAdam Brann
SSgtTrevor Brewer
MSgtKellie Brisse
SMSgtKellie Brisse
SSgtHarley Brydon
MSgtKenneth Bullard
MSgtKenneth Burnham
SSgtEdward Caldwell
SSgtNathanael Callon
SSgtJoel Cameron
SMSgtKarl Campbell
SMSgtLee Cantrell
TSgtSean Carr
MSgtRobbie Carroll
TSgtScott Chamberlain
TSgtEric Chaney
MSgtStephen Chisenhall
MSgtRichard Chwalik
MSgtVance Clark
MSgtJerry Clark
SSgtShawn Coleman
MSgtTruman Conrad
TSgtAaron Cooper
SMSgtPaul Costinett
MSgtLawrence Cousino
MSgtTracy Curtis
MSgtRobert Dahl
SSgtBilly Dasinger
SrAWilliam Deater
SMSgtMark Decorte
MSgtMauricio Defreitas
MSgtJason Delucy
MSgtMichael Denoncour
SMSgtDaniel Deprez
MSgtJoseph Derevage
ComCMSgtPamela Derrow
TSgtEdward Dieterle
TSgtStephen Dillehayes
CMSgtMichael Dilt
SSgtShahid Din
MSgtMichael Dodge
SSgtMarcos Dominguez
SSgtMichael Duckens
CMSgtCharles DuFault
MSgtClinton Dunnehoo
MSgtRonald Durall
SMSgtCarl Eckrode
TSgtCullen Elliott
TSgtAlfred Felker
CMSgtJoseph Ferrall
SgtJames Fields
CMSgtCarlos Figueroa
MSgtGeorge Fillgrove
MSgtRose Finnie
SMSgtBartley Fischer
MSgtErik Flanagan
SMSgtMelvin Fogle
TSgtChristopher Frost
MSgtJames Fuller
SgtSteve Furry
SSgtDavid Gajeske
SSgtBrian Gates
SSgtJeremiah Gates
MSgtRobert Giancarlo
MSgtRichard Gilbert
TSgtHeriberto Gonzalez
SMSgtMichael Gravenor
TSgtRobert Graves
TSgtKent Greenwood
MSgtKenneth Griffiths
TSgtMichael Grooms
SMSgtDaniel Guzman
TSgtChristopher Hale
CMSgtRobert Hale
MSgtMichael Hanks
SMSgtWayne Harker
MSgtMatthew Harms
MSgtJeffrey Hartman
MSgtJohn Hastings
MSgtKurt Haupt
SMSgtChad Hayes
CMSgtErick Hays
SSgtEric Helgeson
MSgtRobert Hemmerly
SgtLinda Herbert (now Dalton)
SMSgtEmilio Hernandez
SSgtChristopher Herzer
TSgtChristopher Highland
TSgtChristopher Hill
MSgtDarrell Hodges
SSgtZachary Holschuh
CMSgtLewis Holston
TSgtSteven Howard
SSgtCurvin Hunt
TSgtChristopher Jachimiec
TSgtCarl Jackson jr.
TSgtMelchor Javier
TSgtJason Jeffers
CMSgtJon Jefferson
TSgtShayne Jenkins
TSgtWilliams jr. John
SSgtJoshua Johnson
TSgtRobert Johnson
MSgtTracy Johnston
CMSgtLeslie Jones
CMSgtTracy Jones
TSgtJames Jordan
MSgtGeorge Kaelin
MSgtDouglas Kahn
SMSgtMark Keck
TSgtScott Keith
SrARichard Kelly
TSgtWayne King
MSgtPaul Kinsey
TSgtCharles Kirkpatrick
TSgtAlbert Klaver Jr
SMSgtTimothy Klingenberg
MSgtRoger Krasusky
MSgtDaryl Lamb
SSgtAlbert Lamboy
TSgtJohn Lanier III
SSgtSue Larson
TSgtBradley Lauterwasser
SMSgtDale Lawrence
CMSgtDavid Lawrence
MSgtEdiberto Leal
TSgtPatrick Ledbetter
MSgtJames Leonard
TSgtTravis Leonard
CMSgtFrank Levand
TSgtCharlie Lewis
SMSgtThomas Lewis
MSgtBrent Lieberman
MSgtBradley Littlefield
SMSgtShad Lochner
TSgtLawrence Lopez
TSgtGary Louden
SMSgtGina Louis
SSgtMelvin Lucas
TSgtZabrina Lucas
ComCMSgtJose LugoSantiago
SSgtJoshua Lytle
SSgtRamdolph Macapinlac
MSgtMichael Mahoney
TSgtThomas Mahurin
TSgtAdam Malek
MSgtRaymond Malone
SgtPaul Mancuso
SMSgtLee Manley
MSgtDavid Martin
CMSgtDavid Martin
SSgtMichael Marushia
SgtPaul Matteo
MSgtJeremy Mays
MSgtDouglas Mcbryde jr
SMSgtAlvin McCloud
SgtJohn Mccollum
TSgtByron Mcculloch
SMSgtTim McDonell
SMSgtCharles McJunkin
TSgtFaye McKevitt (Ivey)
TSgtThomas McKrush
TSgtJ Messer
TSgtRyan Michels
TSgtMark Miller
SSgtEric Miller
MSgtMichael Miller
ComCMSgtEduardo Mireles
MSgtJared Moran
MSgtThomas Mulberry
TSgtM. Anthony Muller
SSgtDerek Mundell
MSgtMichael Murieen
MSgtMatthew Murphy
TSgtDaniel Naro
TSgtStephen Nelson
TSgtSergio Norat
CMSgtKenneth O'Dell
MSgtMichael Olmstead
SMSgtMark Pakradooni
MSgtDennis Palmer
MSgtRichard Parks
SSgtTimothy Parry
SMSgtShawn Payne
MSgtJacob Peeterse
MSgtRitche Pepito
MSgtJaime Perez
SMSgtLeoanrd Perkins
MSgtCorey Perkins
MSgtCynthia Peterson
CMSgtJerry Phillips
MSgtTroy Pietz
CMSgtRobert Pipkins
TSgtRussell Pollock
TSgtMichael Powell
SgtMichael Pratt
SSgtMacario Pulido
SgtHugh Quattlebaum
MSgtJose Ramon Jr.
TSgtIan Reed
CMSgtBrian Reel
CMSgtJohn Reeves
SSgtIan Regan
MSgtGeorge Regler
MSgtJoseph Reno
TSgtRobert Rice
ComCMSgtJeffrey Richardson
MSgtJoseph Robinson
MSgtShawn Roskosky
ComCMSgtRichard Sanchez
SrAChristopher Schatz
MSgtGuy Schofield
SrARegina Schuster
TSgtDavid Sealock
SgtSteve Secatch
MSgtDavid Shaw
SSgtKhemraj Singh
MSgtRonald Smith
MSgtRonald Smith
SMSgtMarcus Smith
TSgtRalph Smith
SSgtBarbara Snell
MSgtJosiah Sojot
TSgtJavier Sosa
TSgtJohn Spencer
TSgtKimothy Steele
TSgtEric Sterman
CMSgtRobert Steurer
TSgtJonathan Stevens
ComCMSgtCurtis Storms
SSgtRichard Stucke
TSgtRichard Swafford
SSgtJohn Tegeler
TSgtJoel Thill
MSgtSteven Thomas II
TSgtChristopher Thompson
TSgtJennifer Toft
MSgtAndrew Trigo
MSgtJames Tritle
SrAThomas Trout
MSgtJoseph Trumbull
CMSgtJoseph Tvelia
TSgtRyan Veith
TSgtBrian Villa
CMSgtJeanne Vogt
MSgtDonald Walden
TSgtJames Walker
CMSgtSteven Wallace
SSgtTrauth Warren
TSgtNa-anthony Watson
MSgtWilliam Webster
MSgtRichard Weimer
TSgtNicholas Wells
AmnJulie Wenner
SMSgtMario White
SSgtRobert Wicks
TSgtMichael Wigginton
TSgtJonathan Williams
ComCMSgtDavid Williamson
MSgtDavid Wills
SSgtChristopher Willson
TSgtPatrick Wiseman
MSgtKathy Wojciechowski
SgtHarold Woodard Jr
MSgtJames Woodfoord
MSgtMichael Woods
SMSgtAndrew Wright
SSgtDennis Wright
SMSgtGary Young